Quark LogoRevolutionizing Publishing. Again.

Accueil / Produits / QuarkXPress / Formation QuarkXPress / QuarkEd


QuarkEd: Formation modulaire, Programme de formation étape par étape

QuarkEd s'adresse aux utilisateurs de tous niveaux. Chaque module contient un guide PDF ainsi que tous les fichiers "exemple" dont vous avez besoin pour réaliser le module.

  1. QuarkXPress : l'essentiel
  2. Construction avancée de mises en page

QuarkXPress : l'essentiel
 

QuarkXPress l'essentiel
QuarkXPress l'essentiel

Ce module vous présente les bases de QuarkXPress. Vous apprendrez à visualiser et à parcourir les mises en page, à ajouter et à formater du texte, à importer des images, à imprimer une mise en page et à créer des tableaux. Une fois familiarisé avec le contenu de ce module, vous serez en mesure de vous attaquer aux fonctionnalités plus avancées de QuarkXPress, telles que les pages maquette, les feuilles de style, les mises en page Web, la retouche d'image, la sortie au format PDF, la synchronisation, Composition Zones® et Job Jackets®.

Construction avancée de mises
en page

Construction avancée de mises en page
Construction avancée de mises en page

Le module QuarkXPress : l'essentiel fournit les informations nécessaires pour réaliser toutes les opérations souhaitées avec QuarkXPress®. Ce module se concentre sur une exécution plus rapide et plus efficace. Les leçons de cette section montrent comment créer des éléments de page automatiques (tels que des en-têtes, des pieds de page et des numéros de page) à l'aide de pages maquettes, comment stocker des éléments de page fréquents dans des bibliothèques, comment définir des gabarits rationalisant le processus de création des documents, comment employer les groupes et les ensembles de palettes pour optimiser l'interface utilisateur de QuarkXPress et comment utiliser les logiciels XTensions® pour accroître les capacités de QuarkXPress.

Connaissances préalables : QuarkXPress : l'essentiel.

  3. Texte et typographie
  4. Éléments de page

Texte et typographie

Texte et typographie
Texte et typographie

Dans ce module, vous allez apprendre à rationaliser votre flux de production à l'aide de feuilles de style contrôler l'espacement vertical et horizontal du texte, à insérer et à utiliser des caractères spéciaux, à contrôler les tabulations, à utiliser des filets et des lettrines, et à profiter du moteur de césure et de justification de pointe qui fait de QuarkXPress le choix du typographe en matière de disposition du texte.

Connaissances préalables : QuarkXPress : l'essentiel.

Éléments de page

Éléments de pagee
Éléments de page

QuarkXPress® simplifie la construction des mises en page en les décomposant en éléments de page, tels que des blocs de texte et d'image, et des traits. Vous pouvez combiner des éléments de page dans une mise en page, les empiler les uns devant ou derrière les autres, les grouper et en modifier la forme. Vous pouvez aussi placer des éléments de page sur des calques invisibles afin de les masquer, afficher, imprimer ou supprimer en cliquant sur un bouton.

Ce module détaille tout ce que vous devez savoir sur la manipulation des éléments de page et comment les faire interagir via des superpositions et des calques.

Connaissances préalables : QuarkXPress : l'essentiel.

  5. Fonctions pour longs documents
  6. Transparence et ombres portées

Fonctions pour longs documents

Fonctions pour longs documents
Fonctions pour longs documents

Les longs documents posent des problèmes particuliers et QuarkXPress® intègre des fonctions permettant de les résoudre. Dans ce module, vous allez apprendre à combiner plusieurs projets QuarkXPress dans un livre et à contrôler la numérotation des pages et les styles de ce livre. Vous apprendrez à créer une table des matières automatique. Vous apprendrez enfin à configurer un index généré automatiquement.

Connaissances préalables : QuarkXPress : l'essentiel.

Transparence et ombres portées

Transparence et ombres portées
Transparence et ombres portées

Avec QuarkXPress®, vous pouvez appliquer une transparence et des ombres portées en dégradé automatiques aux images et texte, et tous les éléments et le texte restent entièrement modifiables. Dans ce module, vous apprendrez à utiliser ces fonctions graphiques dynamiques.

Connaissances préalables : QuarkXPress : l'essentiel.

  7. Gestion de la couleur
  8. Traitement avancé des images

Gestion de la couleur

Gestion de la couleur
Gestion de la couleur

Tous ceux qui travaillent sur des éléments en couleur à imprimer sont conscients de la difficulté à créer un objet imprimé correspondant à l'image affichée. Dans ce module, vous en apprendrez plus sur la gestion de la couleur par QuarkXPress®.

Connaissances préalables : QuarkXPress : l'essentiel.

Traitement avancé des images

Traitement avancé des images
Traitement avancé des images

QuarkXPress® permet d'importer des fichiers images dans un grand nombre de formats, notamment des formats largement utilisés tels que TIFF, JPEG et PNG, mais ce n'est que le début. Vous pouvez utiliser un chemin de détourage intégré à une image afin que cette dernière interagisse avec le texte et la mise en page, ou créer votre propre chemin de détourage dans QuarkXPress. Vous pouvez utiliser la couche alpha d'une image pour fondre l'image aisément dans le fond. Vous pouvez appliquer vos propres effets visuels à des images importées et voir les résultats immédiatement, dans la mise en page même. Vous pouvez même importer un fichier Adobe® Photoshop® à plusieurs claques, et afficher et masquer ces calques sans lancer Photoshop.

Connaissances préalables : QuarkXPress : l'essentiel.

  9. Sortie PDF
10. Mises en page Web

PDF Output

Sortie PDF
Sortie PDFt

PDF (Portable Document Format) est l'un des formats les plus populaires pour la distribution d'informations. Un fichier PDF peut inclure du contenu interrogeable et des hyperliens, être ouvert et imprimé sur presque toutes les plates-formes. Le format PDF est donc idéal pour diffuser des informations sur le Web et une variété d'autres supports.

Pour créer un fichier PDF à partir de la plupart des applications, un outil tiers, tel qu'Acrobat® Distiller®, est nécessaire. Toutefois, vous pouvez créer des fichiers PDF directement dans QuarkXPress®, sans recourir à un outil tiers.

Connaissances préalables : QuarkXPress : l'essentiel.

Mises en page Web

Mises en page Web
Mises en page Web

De nombreux utilisateurs reconnaissent QuarkXPress® comme l'outil de choix pour la production de publications papier. Cependant, vous pouvez également utiliser QuarkXPress pour créer des pages Web, comportant des hyperliens, des rollovers (zones réactives au déplacement de la souris), des menus en cascade, des graphiques Flash® imbriqués et des formulaires à envoyer, et ce, sans rien connaître du langage HTML.

Ce module vous présente les mises en page Web, mises en page particulières que vous pouvez exporter au format HTML. Vous apprendrez à créer des hyperliens, des images cliquables, des menus, des formulaires et des rollovers ; à configurer du texte et des images à utiliser sur le Web ; à incorporer du contenu Flash interactif dans vos pages ; ainsi qu'à convertir intelligemment une page créée pour l'impression en une page parfaite pour le Web.

Connaissances préalables : QuarkXPress : l'essentiel.

11. Contenu partagé
12. Composition Zones

Contenu partagé

Contenu partagé
Contenu partagé

La version 6 de QuarkXPress® a introduit le concept des mises en page et des projets. Avant la version 6, un fichier QuarkXPress était un « document » QuarkXPress et pouvait contenir seulement une série de pages de même taille. Avec la version 6, les « documents » sont devenus des « projets ». Ces projets peuvent contenir plusieurs mises en page de dimensions différentes et même de types différents (papier ou Web). La version 6 a également introduit le concept du texte synchronisé, qui aide à maintenir la cohérence entre les différentes mises en page, pages ou même différentes parties d'une même page. Avec la version 7, vous pouvez également synchroniser le formatage du texte, les blocs, images, etc.

Les concepts de plusieurs mises en page et de synchronisation ne dépendent pas l'un de l'autre ; vous pouvez utiliser l'un sans l'autre. Cependant, ils sont regroupés dans ce module parce qu'ils fonctionnent bien ensemble. La première leçon de ce module offre une présentation détaillée du concept des projets et des mises en page. La deuxième leçon vous apprend à utiliser la synchronisation.

Connaissances préalables : QuarkXPress : l'essentiel.

Composition Zones

Composition Zones
Composition Zones

Dans la plupart des environnements d'édition, les projets sont créés dans le cadre d'un effort collaboratif. Différentes personnes sont chargées des divers aspects d'une mise en page : un rédacteur écrit le texte, tandis qu'un maquettiste formate ce texte et contrôle sa distribution. Parfois, plusieurs personnes peuvent être amenées à travailler en même temps sur un projet ; par exemple, un rédacteur doit travailler sur le texte d'une histoire en haut de la page 4, tandis que le maquettiste formate l'histoire de la moitié inférieure de la même page.

La fonction Composition Zones® est conçue pour résoudre ce type de problèmes, en vous permettant d'exporter une partie d'un projet dans un fichier distinct pour laisser un autre utilisateur travailler dessus. Grâce à la fonction Composition Zones, les rédacteurs des histoires des moitiés supérieure et inférieure de la page 4 peuvent travailler simultanément, et le réviseur peut relire l'histoire en page 2 pendant que le maquettiste formate l'histoire de la page 6. Si le rédacteur de l'histoire de la moitié supérieure de la page 4 se trouve dans un autre pays, le maquettiste principal peut simplement envoyer par courriel le projet contenant l'histoire de ce rédacteur à un autre, et poursuivre son travail sur le reste du projet pendant que le deuxième rédacteur s'occupe de l'histoire.

Ce module contient une leçon qui présente les principaux aspects de la fonction Composition Zones.

Connaissances préalables : QuarkXPress : l'essentiel.

13. Job Jackets
14. Mises en page interactivess

Job Jackets

Job Jackets
Job Jackets

Le terme dossier de fabrication (job jacket) faisait à l'origine référence au dossier cartonné qui accompagnait un travail d'impression depuis la définition des spécifications jusqu'à la sortie du produit final des presses. Dans ce dossier, chaque élément du travail d'impression était doté d'un bon de travail contenant des informations, telles que le numéro du travail et les instructions correspondantes, la taille et le nombre des pages, les couleurs à utiliser, le nombre d'exemplaires à imprimer, ainsi que les instructions de découpage et de reliure. Si un travail d'impression comportait une brochure et un document de publipostage, le dossier de fabrication aurait contenu deux bons de travail.

La fonction Job Jackets® QuarkXPress® a les mêmes utilisations que ces anciens dossiers de fabrication. Toutefois, les possibilités de la fonction Job Jackets vont bien au-delà de ce qui peut être réalisé sur papier.

Dans ce module, vous allez d'abord apprendre à utiliser un fichier Job Jackets pour créer un projet. Vous allez ensuite appliquer les spécifications d'un fichier Job Jackets à un projet existant, puis utiliser les règles d'évaluation intégrées au fichier pour rechercher et corriger un problème dans ce projet. Vous apprendrez ensuite à utiliser les Job Jackets pour garder les feuilles de style et autres ressources synchronisées entre différents projets. Enfin, vous apprendrez à créer et à gérer des dossiers de fabrication Job Jackets.

Cette série d'exercices ne présente qu'une brève introduction de la fonction Job Jackets. Pour plus d'informations sur cette fonction, reportez-vous au Guide QuarkXPress.

Connaissances préalables : QuarkXPress : l'essentiel.

Mises en page interactives

Mises en page interactives
Mises en page interactives

Avec Quark Interactive Designer, vous pouvez ajouter des fonds sonores, des boutons interactifs, des vidéos et des animations à vos projets multimédias.

Dans ce module, vous verrez comme il est facile d'effectuer les tâches ci-après à l'aide de mises en page interactives :

  • Créer un bouton On/Off pour activer et arrêter les fonds sonores
  • Créer un menu avec des effets de survol
  • Créer une séquence d'images pour animer un logo
  • Ajouter une animation SWF (Flash®)
  • Ajouter de la vidéo et des commandes vidéo
  • Créer un bloc de texte déroulant pour afficher du contenu

Connaissances préalables : QuarkXPress : l'essentiel, mises en page Web, fonction Composition Zones

15. Publication numérique
16. Automatisation de la mise en page

Publication numérique

Publication numérique
Publication numérique

Les fonctions de publication numérique de QuarkXPress permettent de créer des livrels dans deux formats différents:

  • Livrels pour Blio® eReader
  • Livrels ePub

Le processus de création de livrels Blio et ePub est très similaire. La principale différence est que certaines fonctions disponibles dans le format de livrel Blio ne le sont pas dans le format ePub. Par exemple, vous pouvez ajouter divers types d'interactivité (y compris du son, de la vidéo et des diaporamas) à une mise en page qui sera exportée en livrel Blio. Cependant, les deux formats prennent en charge un mode d'affichage appelé vue de redistribution, qui facilite la lecture du texte.

Si vous exportez une mise en page comme livrel Blio, vous pouvez ensuite vendre ce livrel par l'intermédiaire de la librairie Blio, en supposant que vous répondez à leurs exigences de publication.

Si vous exportez une mise en page comme livrel ePub, vous pouvez la rendre disponible sur des lecteurs électroniques tels que l'iPad®, Sony® Reader et NOOK®. Vous pouvez également soumettre des livrels ePub à Amazon® pour conversion dans un format pouvant être distribué sur le Kindle®.

Connaissances préalables : QuarkXPress : l'essentiel.

Automatisation de la mise en page

Automatisation de la mise en page
Automatisation de la mise en page

En plus de vous fournir les outils requis pour créer des mises en page riches, de qualité professionnelle, QuarkXPress comprend des fonctions d'automatisation vous aidant à réaliser vos créations aussi rapidement et aisément que possible. Les fonctions décrites dans ce module sont toutes destinées à vous aider à rationaliser vos tâches de mise en page, de sorte que vous pouvez passer plus de temps sur la création et moins à appliquer le même groupe de paramètres de manière répétée.

Connaissances préalables bases de QuarkXPress, texte et typographie

17. AVE Publishing
 

AVE Publishing

Download Digital Publishing Module
App Studio

AVE Publishing contient plusieurs composants :

  • un logiciel XTensions® qui permet de créer du contenu AVE Publishing dans QuarkXPress® et de l'exporter sous forme de parution AVE Publishing ;
  • Quark® AVE Publishing Issue Previewer, appli qui permet de visualiser une parution AVE Publishing sur un iPad ou dans iOS Simulator ;
  • AVE Publishing Factory, application Mac OS® qui permet de configurer un gabarit d'appli AVE Publishing et d'exporter une appli AVE Publishing pour la soumettre à l'Apple® App Store ;
  • le site Web Quark AVE Publishing Portal, qui permet de contrôler la distribution des parutions AVE Publishing.

Ce module requiert QuarkXPress 9.1 ou supérieur.

AVE Publishing Factory ne s'exécute que sous Mac OS.

Pour effectuer tout ce qui est décrit dans ce module, QuarkXPress vous suffit. Toutefois, pour tester une appli AVE Publishing sur un iPad et la déployer vers l'Apple App Store, vous devez disposer d'un compte développeur Apple iOS. Pour publier une appli AVE Publishing, vous devez acquérir une licence de gabarit. Pour diffuser une parution AVE Publishing, vous devez acquérir une licence de parution.

Connaissances préalables: QuarkXPress : l'essentiel.

QuarkEd: Modular, Step-by-step Training Program

QuarkEd caters for users of all ability levels. Each module contains a PDF guide as well as all of the supporting sample files that you will require to complete the module.

  1. QuarkXPress Basics
  2. Advanced Layout Construction

QuarkXPress Basics

Download QuarkXPress Basic Module
QuarkXPress Basics

This module introduces you to some of the basic functionality of QuarkXPress. You will learn how to view and navigate through layouts, add and format text, import pictures, print a layout, and create tables. Once you master the material in this module, you'll be ready to move on to more advanced QuarkXPress features such as master pages, style sheets, Web layouts, image editing, PDF output, synchronization, Composition Zones®, and
Job Jackets®.

Advanced Layout Construction

Download Advanced Layout Construction Module
Advanced Layout Construction

The "QuarkXPress basics" module provides the information you need to do just about anything you want with QuarkXPress®. This module focuses on how to do things more quickly and efficiently. The lessons in this section show how to create automatic page elements (such as headers, footers, and page numbers) with master pages, how to store often-used page elements in libraries, how to create templates that streamline the process of creating new documents, how to use palette groups and palette sets to optimize the QuarkXPress user interface, and how to use XTensions® software to expand the capabilities of QuarkXPress.

Prerequisites: QuarkXPress Basics

  3. Text and Typography
  4. Page Elements

Text and Typography

Download Text and Typography Module
Text and Typography

The text on today's printed page looks much the same as it has since the first printing presses came into existence. However, the process of getting that text to the page has become easier and more versatile over time — and QuarkXPress® is one of the reasons why. QuarkXPress offers a wide variety of features for streamlining the production both of text-based documents and of design-centered pieces, with solid text-handling features that have stood the test of time, plus new features that allow you to take advantage of powerful new fonts.

Prerequisites: QuarkXPress Basics

Page Elements

Download Page Elements Module
Page Elements

QuarkXPress® simplifies the construction of page layouts by breaking them down into page elements such as text boxes, picture boxes, and lines. You can combine page elements in a layout, stack them in front of and behind one another, group them, and change their shapes. You can even put page elements onto invisible layers, so that those page elements can be hidden, shown, printed, or suppressed at the click of a button.

This module explains everything you need to know about working with page elements and making them interact with one another using stacking and layers.

Prerequisites: QuarkXPress Basics

  5. Long-Document Features
  6. Transparency and Drop Shadows

Long-Document Features

Download Long-Document Features Module
Long-Document Features

Long documents present unique challenges — and QuarkXPress® includes features to meet those challenges. In this module, you’ll learn how to combine several QuarkXPress projects into a book, and how to control page numbering and styles within that book. You’ll learn how to create an automatic table of contents. And finally, you’ll learn how to set up an automatically generated index.

Prerequisites: QuarkXPress Basics

Transparency and Drop Shadows

Download Transparency and Drop Shadows Module
Transparency and Drop Shadows

With QuarkXPress®, you can apply transparency and automatic feathered drop shadows to pictures and text, and all items and text remain fully editable. In this module, you’ll learn how to use these graphically dynamic features.

Prerequisites: QuarkXPress Basics

  7. Color Management
  8. Advanced Pictures

Color Management

Download Color Management Module
Color Management

Anyone who works with printed color pieces is aware of the difficulty of creating a printed piece that matches the way the piece looks on a monitor. In this module, you’ll learn about how QuarkXPress® handles color management.

Prerequisites: QuarkXPress Basics

Advanced Pictures

Download Advanced Pictures Module
Advanced Pictures

QuarkXPress® lets you import picture files in a wide variety of formats, including popular formats such as TIFF, JPEG, and PNG — but that's only the beginning. You can use a clipping path built into an image to make the image interact with the text and layout, or create your own clipping path in QuarkXPress. You can use an image's alpha channel to fade the image seamlessly into the background. You can apply your own visual effects to imported pictures and see the results immediately, right there in the layout. You can even import a multilayer Adobe® Photoshop® file, and show and hide its layers without launching Photoshop.

Prerequisites: QuarkXPress Basics

  9. PDF Output
10. Web Layouts

PDF Output

Download PDF Output Module
PDF Output

Among the most popular formats for distributing information is PDF (Portable Document Format). A PDF file can contain searchable content and hyperlinks, and can be opened and printed on almost any platform, making PDF ideal for distributing information on the Web and a variety of other media.

To create a PDF file from most applications, a third-party tool such as Acrobat® Distiller® is required. However, with QuarkXPress, you can create PDF files directly from QuarkXPress®, with no third-party tools required

Prerequisites: QuarkXPress Basics

Web Layouts

Download Web Layouts Module
Web Layouts

Many people are familiar with QuarkXPress® as the premier tool for producing print publications. However,
you can also use QuarkXPress to create beautifully designed Web pages, complete with hyperlinks, rollovers, cascading menus, embedded Flash® graphics, and submittable forms — and you don't have to know a word of HTML to do it.

This module introduces you to Web layouts, which are a special kind of layout that you can export in HTML format. You will learn how to create hyperlinks, image maps, menus, forms, and rollovers; you'll learn how to configure text and pictures for use on the Web; you'll learn how to include interactive Flash content in your pages; and you'll learn how to intelligently convert a page that was created for print into a page that looks great on the Web.

Prerequisites: QuarkXPress Basics

11. Shared Content
12. Composition Zones

Shared Content

Download Shared Content Module
Shared Content

Version 6 of QuarkXPress® introduced the concept of layouts and projects. Prior to version 6, a QuarkXPress file was a QuarkXPress "document," and it could contain only one series of same-sized pages. With version 6, "documents" became "projects," and projects were allowed to contain multiple layouts of different sizes, and even different types (Print or Web). Version 6 also introduced the concept of synchronized text, which helps you to maintain consistency among layouts, pages, or even different parts of the same page. Beginning with version 7, you can also synchronize text formatting, boxes, pictures, and more.

The concepts of multiple layouts and synchronization are not dependent on one another; you can use one without the other. However, they are grouped in this module because they work well together. The first lesson in this module provides an in-depth look at the concept of projects and layouts, and the second lesson shows you how to work with synchronization.

Prerequisites: QuarkXPress Basics

Composition Zones

Download Composition Zones Module
Composition Zones

In most publishing environments, projects are created as a collaborative effort. Different people are responsible for different aspects of a layout: a writer writes the text, whereas a layout artist formats that text and controls its flow. Sometimes more than one person might need to work on a project at the same time; for example, a writer might need to work on the text of the story on the top of page four while a layout artist formats the story on the bottom half of the same page.

The Composition Zones® feature is designed to solve problems like this by allowing you to export a portion of a project as a separate file so someone else can work on it. With the Composition Zones feature, the writers of the stories on the top and bottom halves of page four can work on their stories simultaneously — and the copy editor can proof the story on page two while the layout artist formats the story on page six. If the writer of the story on the top half of page four is in a different country, the main layout artist can simply e-mail the project containing that writer's story to the writer, and continue working with the rest of the project while the writer works on the story.

This module consists of one lesson, which introduces the key aspects of the Composition Zones feature.

Prerequisites: QuarkXPress Basics

13. Job Jackets
14. Interactive Layouts

Job Jackets

Download Job Jackets Module
Job Jackets

The term "job jacket" originally referred to the manila folder that would accompany a print job from the point when the specifications were laid out to the point when the finished job rolled off the press. Within one of these folders, each piece in the print job would have a job ticket containing such information as the job number and instructions, the page size and count, the colors to be used, the number of copies to be printed, and the cutting and binding instructions. For example, if a print job included a brochure and a direct mail piece, the job jacket for that job would have two job tickets.

The QuarkXPress® Job Jackets® feature serves many of the same purposes as these old-style job jacket folders. However, the capabilities of the Job Jackets feature go far beyond anything that could be accomplished on paper.

In this module, you will first see how to use a Job Jackets file to create a project. Next, you will apply the specifications in a Job Jackets file to an existing project, and you will use the evaluation rules built into the Job Jackets file to find and fix a problem in that project. Then you'll see how you can use Job Jackets to keep style sheets and other resources synchronized between different projects. Lastly, you'll see how to create and manage Job Jackets.

This set of exercises provides only a brief introduction to the Job Jackets feature. For more in-depth information about this feature, see A Guide to QuarkXPress.

Prerequisites: QuarkXPress Basics

Interactive Layouts

Download Interactive Layouts Module
Interactive Layouts

With Quark Interactive Designer, you can add background sound, interactive buttons, video, and animations to your multimedia projects.

In this module, you will see how easy it is to perform the following tasks with Interactive layouts:

  • Create an On/Off button for playing and stopping background sound
  • Create a menu with mouse-over effects
  • Create an image sequence to animate a logo
  • Add Flash® (SWF) animation
  • Add video and video controls
  • Create a scrollable text box to display content

Prerequisites: QuarkXPress Basics, Text and Typography

15. Digital Publishing
16. Layout Automation

Digital Publishing

Download Digital Publishing Module
Digital Publishing

The digital publishing features in QuarkXPress let you create e-books in two formats:

  • eBooks for Blio® eReader
  • ePub e-books

The process of creating Blio eBooks and ePub e-books is very similar. The main difference is that there are some features available in the Blio eBook format that are not available in the ePub feature. For example, you can add various types of interactivity — including sound, video, and slideshows — to a layout that will exported as a Blio eBook. Both formats, however, support a viewing mode called reflow view, which makes it easy to read text.

If you export a layout as a Blio eBook, you can then sell that eBook through the Blio bookstore, assuming you meet their publishing requirements.

If you export a layout as an ePub e-book, you can make it available on e-readers such as the iPad®, Sony® Reader, and NOOK®. You can also submit ePub e-books to Amazon® for conversion to a format that can be delivered on the Kindle®.

Prerequisites: QuarkXPress Basics

Layout Automation

Download Layout Automation Module
Layout Automation

In addition to providing you with the tools you need to create gorgeous, professional-quality layouts, QuarkXPress includes automation features that help you to craft your creations as quickly and easily as possible. The features described in this module are all designed to help you streamline your layout tasks, so that you can spend more time being creative and less time applying the same group of settings over and over.

Prerequisites: QuarkXPress Basics, Text and Typography

17. AVE Publishing
 

AVE Publishing

Download Digital Publishing Module
App Studio

AVE Publishing includes several components:

  • XTensions® software that lets you create AVE Publishing content in QuarkXPress® and export that content as an AVE Publishing issue.
  • Quark® AVE Publishing Issue Previewer, an app that lets you view AVE Publishing issues on an iPad or in iOS Simulator.
  • AVE Publishing Factory, a Mac OS® application that lets you configure an AVE Publishing app template and export an AVE Publishing app for submission to the Apple® App Store.
  • The Quark AVE Publishing Portal Web site, which lets you control the distribution of AVE Publishing issues.

This module requires QuarkXPress 9.1 or later.

AVE Publishing Factory runs only on Mac OS.

You can do everything described in this module without having to purchase anything other than QuarkXPress. However, to test an AVE Publishing app on an iPad and deploy an AVE Publishing app to the Apple App Store, you must have an Apple iOS Developer account. To publish an AVE Publishing app, you must purchase a template license. To release an AVE Publishing issue, you must purchase an issue license.

Prerequisites: QuarkXPress Basics